The States Of England

All New England was divided into four parts in the time of the Revolution. To the original four colonies, Vermont, the fourteenth, and Maine, the twenty-third State, have since been added.

New England is an entity, a natural physiographic region, and the interests of its people are one, but it still remains divided into six parts. There is little cooperation between the states and there is lacking a feeling of unity among the people. “Wake up, New England,” “Get Together, New England,” and “Boom New England” are slogans which have been sounded without very much permanent result.

The traditions, local prejudices, the prosperity and the let-wellenough-alone spirit offer large obstacles to the development of any unity of action. No actual consolidation, of course, is possible or has ever been projected. The pride of the people in their home states, the entrenchment of privilege, and the fact that local leaders and local politicians would thereby lose control of their bailiwicks make such a plan unthinkable in this plutocratic democracy.